The Envelope Please

This is my first ever attempt at the Trifecta Writing Challenge. www.trifectawritingchallenge.com/  This week’s word is observe.

Everyone always said it was an honor just to be nominated. And although she was flattered that the Writer’s Block Foundation had been impressed with her personal dearth of literary vision, she wasn’t sure but what she would trade all the Tassies in the world for just one good idea. She had earned the nomination for the Taciturn, or Tassie, by staring at her blank computer screen day after day hoping an idea would show up, but her mind had seemed intent on staying empty, as if it had already decided she should win the golden statuette of the Muted Muse.

Nada slipped into her black dress, the one that made her look a little thinner, chose the bronze colored pumps, and fastened her grandmother’s pearls around her neck. Classic but understated. She certainly didn’t want to look like she had dressed as if she expected to win, but if she did win, she wanted to look the part. Not in a “red carpet” sort of way, but in an “I never expected this–I didn’t even prepare an acceptance speech” sort of way. Then she thought better of the heels. If she did win, she would have to go up front, climb the steps, and walk across the stage in front of everyone. She’d better not risk that in heels. She traded them for a pair of ballet flats, then finished with red lipstick. There. That was as close as she would ever come to the Audrey look.

“The envelope, please,” said Shekie Wurlitzer. He opened it, looked at the name, and in a final attempt to get a laugh, asked everyone to observe a moment of silence for the death of a thought life. “And the Tassie goes to … Nada Wurd!”

Nada rose, blushing and fingering her pearls, glad she wore her flats, and made her way to the front.

About paulajwray

I am a writer and I live in the Rocky Mountains of southwest Colorado with my husband and a balding black cat. I write humor, flash fiction, creative non-fiction, inspirational essays, and poetry. When I'm not writing, making lists, or forcing a family member to listen to something I've written, I'm reading, gardening, or laughing with my friends. I also, occasionally, sit and stare.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to The Envelope Please

  1. Scriptor Obscura says:

    Haha…this is great! Great story here, and I love the names you came up with! Very clever 🙂

  2. Scriptor Obscura says:

    And a hearty welcome to the Trifecta challenge! Hope to see you around for the weekend challenge too 🙂

  3. barbara says:

    Oooh I think I have a Tassie or two hidden around here somewhere. Nada Wurd! Love it.

  4. Sightsnbytes says:

    Nice to see you join into Trifecta. I have been writing for the challenges, and I must say, it is quite enjoyable; plus the challenge introduces so many great bloggers to the participants.

  5. “with her personal dearth” hahaha!! I loved the irony of writer’s block serving as a writer’s inspriation, in the character’s name and in the name of the award itself.

    • Paula J says:

      Thank you so much. And I want to thank all the little people without whom this would have never been possible. Also, my loving husband, my children, my grandchildren..(the orchestra begins playing)I know I’m forgetting someone. You know who you are. Thank you. Thank you all.

  6. chrstnj says:

    Fabulous! So funny and full of wistful thinking!

  7. Maggie says:

    Just wait till Nary Athot reads this. She will be so jealous.

  8. Ha ha! This is fantastic. Welcome to the challenge. It will be fun to have you around. Great take on the prompt. Hope you’ll come back for the weekend challenge, too.

  9. Diane says:

    Grand choice of words and names throughout. Fantastic, ironic story.
    Now, I’m laughing as I read Maggie’s reply – Nada Wurd meets Nary Athot!
    Nicely done.

Leave a Reply

