Black

“Black from hat to boots!” declared Aunt Weegie, shaking her head. “In my day, it would be a sure sign of mourning. These days, people think it’s a fashion statement. Or a life choice. Funny to call it a life choice, when it’s so focused on death. It’s surely grief whether you know it or not.”

“I say it ain’t normal to be so chummy with death. Skulls and bones and bloodless white pallor on purpose? A person shouldn’t court death. Even if you live to be a hundred, death will come calling soon enough. No need to woo it.”

20121016-191640.jpg

This is my entry in the trifecta writing challenge using the third definition of black.
trifecta

About paulajwray

I am a writer and I live in the Rocky Mountains of southwest Colorado with my husband and a balding black cat. I write humor, flash fiction, creative non-fiction, inspirational essays, and poetry. When I'm not writing, making lists, or forcing a family member to listen to something I've written, I'm reading, gardening, or laughing with my friends. I also, occasionally, sit and stare.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Black

  1. Debbie says:

    I like this! Aunt Weegie can give her opinion freely without seeming a bit judgemental. I love her!

  2. Brian Benoit says:

    I like that second paragraph especially — “A person shouldn’t court death” — a wise perspective. Nice job!

  3. Draug says:

    No need to woo it! lol that made me laugh 😀

  4. Annabelle says:

    Great voice here! She sounds like a lady worth knowing.

  5. Paula J says:

    I always like it when Aunt Weegie shows up. You can read more of what she has to say here. https://cheesedoodlesandothermisunderstandings.wordpress.com/2012/08/18/trifextra-week-twenty-nine/ and at the link in that post. Does that make sense. Anyway, Aunt Weegie has shown up twice before.

  6. I loved Aunt Weegie’s voice. I imagined a whole history for her name. (She was Louise, they called her Weezy, and some great grand-nephew or niece said it Weegie a thousand years ago). But she seemed to be the embodiment of a baffled older generation who nonetheless had a truth to speak. We ARE all mourning something.

    • Paula J says:

      I like the history you fashioned for Weegie’s name. If I have cast Weegie as a stereotypical, baffled older generation, I have done her a disservice. In my imagination, she is quite clear sighted. She understands what is going on. Perhaps her plain speaking causes her to seem too simple to be wise. Thanks for the comment. You always give me something to ponder.

  7. I, Rodius says:

    I like Aunt Weegie. I bet she’s an unapologetic pain in the ass.

    • Paula J says:

      Sometimes the truth is painful, particularly if one is on the wrong side of it. Aunt Weegie would never apologize for the truth, but she would be sorry for the pain it caused. Thanks for reading and for your comment.

  8. Trifecta says:

    Love. I love the idea of courting death. Wooing. Being chummy. I’ve never thought about dark dress this way, but now I’ll probably be incapable of seeing it any other way. Thanks for linking up.

  9. Gabriela says:

    Ohh, wouldn’t want an auntie like this 🙂 But the argument sure is thought-provoking.

Leave a Reply

