Spittin’ Image

Don’t know which I’ve spent more energy on. Trying to be like my mother or trying not to be like her. Filling the mold; breaking the mold. In this, I’m still a child.

20121228-205229.jpg
**************************************************************************************************************
Made with real cheese that gives a melt-in-your-mouth flavor you can’t resist.

About Paula J Wray

I am a writer and I live in the Rocky Mountains of southwest Colorado with my husband and a balding black cat. I write humor, flash fiction, creative non-fiction, inspirational essays, and poetry. When I'm not writing, making lists, or forcing a family member to listen to something I've written, I'm reading, gardening, or laughing with my friends. I also, occasionally, sit and stare.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Spittin’ Image

  1. Christine says:

    Paula, I love this. So honest and genuine. What a fabulous response to this prompt.

  2. jannatwrites says:

    I can relate to this. I love this response 🙂

  3. Draug419 says:

    I love the conflict in this piece (:

  4. Linda Vernon says:

    Moms are our best role models and our worst role models all rolled into one. I never really thought about that before! YIkes, I suppose the same holds true for my mothering as well. 😀

  5. atrm61 says:

    Does your post ring a bell?Yes,it sure does!At some subconscious level ,we daughters,try to emulate our Moms ,while at some level trying to negate it!What a dichotomy!A thought provoking piece which I loved:-)

  6. deanabo says:

    I try so hard to not be like my mom, yet I grow more and more like her everyday.

    • Paula J says:

      There are specific things I made a definite decision to never do, but sometimes I’m surprised by stuff that I do and I have to admit “I am so my mother!”

  7. barbara says:

    Mom was always right – even when she was wrong – argh!!! So hard to grow up, int?

  8. trifectawriting says:

    Perfect.

  9. Aww. I like this one. I really do. Personally, there will always be some things I improve upon and others where I fail miserably upon comparison.

  10. I’m like my mother in ways I both like and hate too. For example, I know for a fact that she is the reason I am terrified of bugs. I’m trying hard to deprogram myself from all that nonsense though. I just want to keep the good and flush the biases and other garbage that got thrown at my doorstep. Easier said than done though, I know.

    Awesome micro-fiction. I really enjoyed it. There are so many incredible entries for this prompt. I have no idea how people are going to choose only three.

    • Paula J says:

      I know my mother did the best she could with what she had and I’m doing the same. None of her “mistakes” have ruined me. Hopefully my mistakes will be as benign.

  11. cshowers says:

    LOL – I think many daughters can relate to what you’ve written about. As I get older and look in the mirror, I’m sometimes frightened and shocked to find my mother looking back at me… And the truly awful times are when I find myself saying or doing something my mother did, that I swore I would NEVER say or do… Ahhhhhhhhhhh!

    Thanks for sharing.

    Love,
    Cheryl

    • Paula J says:

      Yes, I find it strange that even though I thought my mother was pretty, I don’t want to look like her. I just want to look like me. Makes no sense at all!

      • cshowers says:

        I always felt the same way. My mom still is a very attractive woman, but when I look in the mirror, I don’t expect to see her. It throws me off. Like you, I want to see me. 😀

        Many blessings to you,
        Cheryl

Leave a Reply

