A New Song

The notes from the piano were not the ones I was expecting. The audience turned my way and paused in their low buzz of conversation and clinking glassware.

It was my first night to sing at the Grace Note Lounge, and I was ready. I really was, except, this wasn’t my song. This was a song I had never heard before. I couldn’t blow my chance, so I took a deep breath, followed the melody the pianist was crafting, closed my eyes, caressed the microphone like a lover, and began singing in a language I made up on the spot.
********************
This was written forThe 100 Word Challenge Week #73

********************
Made with real cheese for a melt-in-your-mouth flavor you can’t resist.

About paulajwray

I am a writer and I live in the Rocky Mountains of southwest Colorado with my husband and a balding black cat. I write humor, flash fiction, creative non-fiction, inspirational essays, and poetry. When I'm not writing, making lists, or forcing a family member to listen to something I've written, I'm reading, gardening, or laughing with my friends. I also, occasionally, sit and stare.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A New Song

  1. Very nice! I like the character’s ingenuity and determination.

  2. Also, real cheese makes anything better!

Leave a Reply

