Heavy Silence

I left it unspoken that day we said goodbye. I was afraid. Hoping for a surge of courage, but it didn’t come. I never told you.

I thought I would write. That the words would be easier to put on paper, but the paper resisted the words. I never told you.

I still suffer those too-heavy words, though the time to share them has passed. I never told you.
**************************************************************************************

This was written in response to a prompt from Type Trigger
**************************************************************************************
Made with real cheese for a melt-in-your-mouth flavor you can’t resist.

About paulajwray

I am a writer and I live in the Rocky Mountains of southwest Colorado with my husband and a balding black cat. I write humor, flash fiction, creative non-fiction, inspirational essays, and poetry. When I'm not writing, making lists, or forcing a family member to listen to something I've written, I'm reading, gardening, or laughing with my friends. I also, occasionally, sit and stare.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment