Terminal Certainty

Kane Talmadge was certain he knew all the facts about what his wife, Esther, had done. It puffed him up like yeast, rendering him deaf to her words. He took what she said and distilled her explanations so that they matched the essence of his perception. Because he was certain, the script that dictated his imaginations was already written and could not suffer the editor’s pen. Kane could not step back from his certainty, so he walked, instead, through the door of unforgiveness.

Mere knowledge makes people arrogant, but love gives them clear insight. Those who think they know something still have a lot to learn. 1 Corinthians 8: 1-2 Paula’s Paraphrase
***************************************
This week’s Trifecta Writing Challenge asks us to use the 3rd definition of the word door.

20130502-104637.jpg
Made with real cheese for a melt-in-your-mouth flavor you can’t resist.

About Paula J Wray

I am a writer and I live in the Rocky Mountains of southwest Colorado with my husband and a balding black cat. I write humor, flash fiction, creative non-fiction, inspirational essays, and poetry. When I'm not writing, making lists, or forcing a family member to listen to something I've written, I'm reading, gardening, or laughing with my friends. I also, occasionally, sit and stare.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Terminal Certainty

  1. This is neat – The door of unforgiveness. I like this a lot.

  2. Robin says:

    I wonder if you have any idea how amazingly written this is? Not only in it’s meaning, but the way the words are put together!! Oh. My. Gosh.

  3. joetwo says:

    Good one! Nice point!

  4. Paula J says:

    Thanks, Joe. I appreciate your comment.

  5. Why listen? — this is so true….

  6. Paula J says:

    How generous of you to tell me. Thank you.

  7. Rebekah Postupak says:

    ohhhh do I ever know people like this. Other people, that is. Not me, of course. (No, not me!)

  8. Lynda Busbee says:

    What a perfect picture of holding a grudge! God, forgive me; I’ve done it too many times and it always, ALWAYS ends up hurting me more than it hurts the “guilty” party. Thanks for such a beautifully written picture of the human condition. I resemble that picture more than I want to admit.

  9. Draug419 says:

    I love that yeast line. I have to remember to use that something in conversation 😀

  10. I love this, too. Great title and a great message. Thanks for linking up. Remember to come back and vote, ok?

  11. jannatwrites says:

    The door of unforgiveness is one I haven’t read this week – I like it! It’s so true that not forgiving is a choice…as much as forgiving is.

    P.S. I like your paraphrase of the verse 🙂

  12. I love “puffed him up like yeast”

  13. Paula J says:

    Thanks for being specific with your comment. It helps to find out what details resonate with the reader. I appreciate it.

  14. atrm61 says:

    “Because he was certain, the script that dictated his imaginations was already written and could not suffer the editor’s pen.”Wow!What preconceived notions & our egos can do to the relationships we have-a perfect example here!Amazing piece of writing here Paula!

  15. This is a very wise message and well written piece.

Leave a Reply

