Little Girls and Super Powers

They play mermaid and princess
In all weather and seasons.
Wear fancy dresses,
Jangling bracelets,
Feathered tiaras, sparkly shoes.
Mismatched velvet and satin, but
Will not wear coats.
They call it WARM POWER!

20130505-162834.jpg
Picture of my granddaughters taken by Sandi Wray Photography
*************************************************************************

20130505-163056.jpg
This is my 33 word entry for this weekend’s Trifextra. Click the link and see what the other brilliant writers that frequent that challenge offered. The judging is open to the public this time, so, since I’m not too proud to beg, show me some love and vote for me. You’ll recognize me by this little birdie.

20130505-165138.jpg
**************************************************************************************************
Made with real cheese for a melt-in-your-mouth flavor you can’t resist.

About Paula J Wray

I am a writer and I live in the Rocky Mountains of southwest Colorado with my husband and a balding black cat. I write humor, flash fiction, creative non-fiction, inspirational essays, and poetry. When I'm not writing, making lists, or forcing a family member to listen to something I've written, I'm reading, gardening, or laughing with my friends. I also, occasionally, sit and stare.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Little Girls and Super Powers

  1. I like it. Left me with a good feeling.

  2. Suzanne says:

    Oh yes, I’m familiar with those particular super powers! This is such a great piece Paula. Love the picture too!

  3. Draug419 says:

    d’awww :3
    I was the same way as a kid–no coat for me!

  4. Trifecta says:

    Oh, they’re just gorgeous. My daughter has this super power, too! Her preschool constantly admonishes me for letting the poor child freeze. Shrug. I try. 🙂

    • Paula J says:

      When I would substitute at the elementary school, it was a losing battle to try and make them wear coats to recess. Even on the most frigid days.

  5. jannatwrites says:

    Oh, I remember those days. Absolutely could not wear a coat – it would ruin the ensemble 🙂

  6. atrm61 says:

    So sweet!Yes,girls are the best-without their coats;-)

    • Paula J says:

      When they do,choose to wear one, they pick out something completely inappropriate.

      • atrm61 says:

        Ha!ha!How like a girl;-)We have a temperate weather here in India,so really cannot say-my daughter only had to wear a blazer at school during winter(which is at best mild here).

  7. Lumdog says:

    Ha! This was cute. And so true. 🙂

  8. Kir Piccini says:

    I loved this!! such beautiful girls.
    For the record, I hate coats and will only wear them if absolutely necessary…even in the coldest winters.

    I believe in WARM POWER. 🙂

  9. Aww adorable! I need some of that power!

    • Paula J says:

      I remember a few years back when I took a coat in the car with me but never wore it. I probably should have, but I just didn’t want to fool with it and then be too hot when I got into the mall or Wal Mart,or wherever.

Leave a Reply

