A Spring Snowstorm

Dear Merv,
We are enjoying an earnest spring snowstorm this morning, and the birds are pushing and shoving at the feeders. I like watching the birds feed on a snowy day more than any other time. The colors are muted and reduced to various shades of white and grey, and though the snow is falling fast, as if each flake were a heavyweight, it is landing silently. Even the fussing the birds make at each other as they quarrel over whose turn it is, is muffled by the glass in my window. The quick burgeoning of spring has been paused by the snowfall, and so I feel I have been given permission to sit a while by the fire with nothing more pressing to do than watch the birds.
The chickadee sends his love. Me too.
Paula J

*****************************************************
Made with real cheese for a melt-in-your-mouth flavor you can’t resist.

About Paula J Wray

I am a writer and I live in the Rocky Mountains of southwest Colorado with my husband and a balding black cat. I write humor, flash fiction, creative non-fiction, inspirational essays, and poetry. When I'm not writing, making lists, or forcing a family member to listen to something I've written, I'm reading, gardening, or laughing with my friends. I also, occasionally, sit and stare.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Spring Snowstorm

  1. katydidknot says:

    Very evocative.

    And also curious. It is May, and yet in so many places, I’m still seeing stuff like this. Weird year!

  2. TriGirl says:

    That sounds lovely! Such strange weather this week; we had a day in the 80s, which is not typical at all for us!

  3. Paula J says:

    I’d like it to consistently warmer, but then the snow in the mountains would melt too fast.

Leave a Reply

