Ainsley Skipworth’s Rocky Romance

Things were heating up rather nicely between Daisy Picklesford and myself, which meant I was going to have to take her to meet the old blood, Lady Penswaddle. It was a touchy bit of business, as, although Aunt Delia was very keen on my getting hitched (she thought it would do wonders for my character) she had heretofore viewed all of my other flames with a jaundiced eye. Something about them being gold diggers and flibbertigibbets. The gold digger estimation because I enjoyed a very comfortable pension from my departed parents and was in position to inherit the rest of their embarrassingly bountiful assets upon my nuptials. The flibbertigibbet part had to do with the way the girls dressed and Aunt Delia’s judgement that none of them had anything in their heads except the latest dance craze and the lyrics to popular songs. Dear old Aunt Delia was sorely out of touch, but she did hold the purse strings.

Nothing for it, but to ring Aunt Delia and get her to agree to having Daisy and myself as weekend guests at her country house.

“What, ho, Aunt Delia. I wondered if I might pop in for the weekend?”

“How much do you need, Skippy?”

“Not a cent, my favorite old crone. Just wanted to keep the ties that bind firmly knotted, is all.”

“You’re not bringing any of those useless young men you carouse with, are you?”

“No, no. I hadn’t thought to bring any of them. I’m bringing a young lady. I wanted to show her your rock collection. She’s delightfully keen on rocks. Talks about them incessantly. You’ll have ever so much in common, I’m sure.”

“If that’s the case, I’d be delighted. Will you be motoring, or shall I have Merton meet you at the station?”

“Motoring. You needn’t bother Merton.”

“Then it’s settled. Must ring off. The peacocks have gotten into my decorative kale again. Do tell your young lady to bring sensible shoes. We’ll go rocking.”

************************************************************
I admit I am a P.G.Wodehouse fan. This is a token of my affection for his style. It is also my entry in the Trifecta Writing Challenge

************************************************************
Cheese Doodles. Made with real cheese for that melt-in-your-mouth flavor you can’t resist.

About Paula J Wray

I am a writer and I live in the Rocky Mountains of southwest Colorado with my husband and a balding black cat. I write humor, flash fiction, creative non-fiction, inspirational essays, and poetry. When I'm not writing, making lists, or forcing a family member to listen to something I've written, I'm reading, gardening, or laughing with my friends. I also, occasionally, sit and stare.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Ainsley Skipworth’s Rocky Romance

  1. I am going to try this Trifecta challenge soon! So fun!

  2. steph says:

    Flibbertigibbets – I love that word. And, ‘she’s delightfully keen on rocks’. So funny. Well done on the voice and tone. I remember another of your entries like this – equally delightful!

  3. Oh, this is spiffing. Top-notch, in fact. I am, oddly enough, watching Jeeves and Wooster at this precise moment! Very nice 🙂

  4. Suzanne says:

    Great piece! Wonderful voice, great dialogue. And I love flibbertigibbets as well — a most excellent word!

  5. Valerie says:

    I adore this! So very Jeeves and Wooster!! Well done!!

  6. Loved this look at the British aristocracy! Mine was about the snooty American elite, my dad’s side of the family… This really did have that “English Country Manor” Wodehouse style, compleat with perfectly ridiculous names. I looooooved it! Amy

  7. flibbertigibbets pretty much made my morning. Thanks for that. I love this. I love when you do this. 🙂

  8. Draug419 says:

    I tried reading Wodehouse once. I couldn’t get into his style. But this is a nice piece even if it reflects him a bit (:

  9. Paula J says:

    Wodehouse is just not your cup of tea. Bob’s your uncle!

  10. jannatwrites says:

    I loved this, “gold diggers and flibbertigibbets”- I had no idea what flibbertigibbets meant (the context gave me a bit of an idea) but it was sure fun to repeat in my head 🙂

  11. Scriptor Obscura says:

    Really nice. Felt like I was in a Masterpiece Theater period drama, Downton Abbey or somesuch. Great period drama feel to it, very British. Nice reading.

    • Paula J says:

      It’s so much fun to write about all the Skippys, Bunkys, and Fizzers, their useless friends, and imposing relatives. Makes me feel very British and from another era. I’m so glad you enjoyed it. Or as Skippy would say–rather chuffed, actually.

  12. flibbertigibbets – haven’t heard that in ages.
    Fun voice. Love the peacocks in the decorative kale!

  13. Paula J says:

    Flibbertigibbets seems to be the word of choice. And the peacocks? Well, I was just about to use up my last of the 333 words when they got out and into the kale. Pesky birds.

Leave a Reply

