Ice Music

The song the frozen lake sings makes me shiver.
Rumble, thunder, crack, pop, ping and gurgle.
Mountains listen and repeat the refrain.
With delicious fright, I plant my feet
And face the ice.
**********************************************************
The challenge this weekend was to use 33 words exactly, employing at least one example of onomatopoeia.


**********************************************************
Made with real cheese for a melt-in-your-mouth flavor you can’t resist.

About Paula J Wray

I am a writer and I live in the Rocky Mountains of southwest Colorado with my husband and a balding black cat. I write humor, flash fiction, creative non-fiction, inspirational essays, and poetry. When I'm not writing, making lists, or forcing a family member to listen to something I've written, I'm reading, gardening, or laughing with my friends. I also, occasionally, sit and stare.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Ice Music

  1. jannatwrites says:

    Scary! I think I’d stay away if the ice had that much to say 🙂

  2. Kir Piccini says:

    I actually got COLD reading this…and that is what is awesome about your writing. I was right there, shivering. 🙂

    what a great job.

  3. I love the sound of a slowly melting frozen lake. But you’ll find me loving it on dry land.

  4. Draug419 says:

    What an awesome thing to describe!

    • Paula J says:

      It is truly awesome and that’s not a word I use very often. At night, the ice can make a noise that mimics thunder. Somehow, it seems almost alive.

  5. Linda Vernon says:

    Paula this is really good. It reminds me of the book I’m reading now by Phillipa Gregory, Wise Woman.

  6. barbara says:

    ah, yes . . . bring it on, spring thaw, bring it on! Ice is truly much noisier than one would think. 🙂

  7. As a winter skater I really can relater to the sounds of the ice… actually when you skate on thin ice it sings and the higher the pitch the thinner the ice.. if you are good, you can listen for the best way.

    • Paula J says:

      I didn’t know that. That is amazing. I remember using all my courage to stay on the ice when it started making its noises as the sun warmed it on a cold winter’s day. And at night, when there was only moon and stars for light, the noises were different, with a different thrill. The frozen lake is a distinct character in our life story here in the mountains where I live.

  8. Connie says:

    Understand, see, hear, love the imagery of this writing! Thanks, Paula!

  9. Jenna says:

    Ooh, “delicious fright.” I like that.

  10. atrm61 says:

    To face one’s fear is best-lovely piece,Paula:-)

  11. Watch out for that cracking ice! Great winter scene.

    • Paula J says:

      The sound of cracking is deceptive. The ice is really thick and as clear as glass. But you can hear its movements magnified. Hard not to believe what you think is happening.

Leave a Reply

