Rainy Day Rules

When I sat down to write, it was raining, and I was tempted to invoke Rainy Day Rules. According to those rules, real life is suspended, and I can do whatever I want, i.e. read, nap, watch reruns, order from QVC, eat sweet and salty treats.

Rainy Day Rules? Yes, it’s a real thing. Sorry if you didn’t know. And maybe its a real thing for me because I’m retired. To be specific, I used to go to work, and now I just work. That seems as close to retired as a woman ever gets.

Unfortunately, my dirty laundry would not yield to the RDR. My husband, Q, told me he had no clean jeans. He is not retired, so he needed pants. I do not need pants. More evidence that I am retired.

I ate these and many other things while watching Netflix.

I ate these and many other things while watching Netflix.

Just so you know, I do not go around pants-less. When clean laundry is at a minimum, I wear pj’s. A perk of being retired. Although, I have seen young people in Walmart and at the Mini-Merc in pj’s, and I doubt they are retired. Perhaps they are living by rules I don’t know. I will not judge.

The Rainy Day Rules give me a legitimate excuse to be lazy, to loll about, to fall off the wagon of git ’er done. Sometimes, they give me some space to just slow down and ponder–to relax and let my mind and body rest.

I guess it’s just a good thing I don’t live in Seattle.

 

About Paula J Wray

I am a writer and I live in the Rocky Mountains of southwest Colorado with my husband and a balding black cat. I write humor, flash fiction, creative non-fiction, inspirational essays, and poetry. When I'm not writing, making lists, or forcing a family member to listen to something I've written, I'm reading, gardening, or laughing with my friends. I also, occasionally, sit and stare.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Rainy Day Rules

  1. Linda Tharp says:

    Enjoy your inclement weather! And if I were you, I’d always be doing a rain dance–your RDR sound pretty appealing!

    • Paula J Wray says:

      It’s been an unusual year. Normally, we have spring snow showers in March. So rain was kind of fun. I blew off getting ready for the income tax man and sat on my window seat and watched Netflix on my iPad.

  2. tjsanderford@aol.com says:

    Made me start thinking of rainy day memories. 😉. Just what are my rainy day rules?

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  3. It’s always good to break the rules. Enjoy your rainy day!

  4. Paula J Wray says:

    Also, sometimes, nice to make our own rules.

  5. jannatwrites says:

    I live in Arizona, so on rainy days, I want to go outside and enjoy it! It’s the sunny, hot days where I want to hole up in a darkened room with cookies and Netflix, haha! Had to laugh at the PJs being worn to the store… I have seen that, and sincerely hope I will always choose to get dressed to leave the house.

  6. Jesse says:

    If I didn’t know about the rainy day rules and wasted a bunch of rainy days working and being productive can I have some make-up rainy days?

Leave a Reply

